National Hazing Prevention Week

SEPTEMBER 21-25, 2020

Hazing of any nature is a matter that Alpha Chi Omega takes seriously. Because of its long-lasting impact on those who may experience hazing, Alpha Chi Omega works to educate members throughout the year on what hazing is and how to prevent it.

How does Alpha Chi Omega define hazing?

Alpha Chi Omega does not condone unkind, undignified or humiliating activities. No chapter, new member, student, alumna or volunteer shall engage in or permit hazing activities. Hazing is any reckless or intentional act that produces physical, mental, or emotional pain, discomfort, humiliation, embarrassment, or ridicule, regardless of a person’s willingness to participate, that is required or expected of a member and that is not related to the Fraternity’s mission. This includes any activity, whether it is presented as optional or required, that places a member in a position of servitude as a condition of membership.
 
Retaliation against any person who reports, is a witness to, or is involved with or cooperates in the investigation and adjudication of hazing is strictly prohibited.
 
Be aware of your state hazing laws. Visit HazingPrevention.org to view a map to familiarize yourself with the laws in your state.

So, what does this actually mean?

Alpha Chi Omega interprets our hazing policy as any action or situation, with or without consent of the participants, which recklessly, intentionally or unintentionally endangers the mental, physical, academic health or safety of a member.

Supporting National Hazing Prevention Week:

In conjunction with HazingPrevention.org, Alpha Chi Omega recognizes National Hazing Prevention Week (NHPW), which asks campuses, schools, organizations and individuals to come together and talk about hazing in their communities, raise awareness about the problem of hazing, educate others and promote the prevention of hazing. Alpha Chi Omega is a continued sponsor of HazingPrevention.org.

We need your help! Is your chapter empowering conversations in your campus community about hazing prevention and education? We want to hear from you! Below are some ways you can be engaged during the National Hazing Prevention Week, September 21-25, 2020! We will feature prizes and opportunities to showcase your chapter on a national level.

  • Create a social media graphic that captures your chapter’s commitment to hazing prevention. Post it online and tag Alpha Chi Omega on Instagram or Facebook using #RSWdonthaze for a chance to win $100 for your chapter’s risk management budget.
  • Click here to register for a free virtual session of “Love, Mom and Dad: Turing Tragedy into Progress” to hear families share personal stories of loss and empower students to end hazing now.
    • Sunday, September 20 at 7 p.m. EDT / 6 p.m. CDT / 5 p.m. MDT / 4 p.m. PDT
    • Trigger warning: student death, hazing
  • Click here to register for a free screening of the documentary film HAZE, sharing Gordie Bailey’s story and connecting the dots between alcohol on campus and hazing.
    • Thursday, September 24 at 8:30 p.m. EDT / 7:30 p.m. CDT / 6:30 p.m. MDT / 5:30 p.m. PDT
    • Trigger warning: student death, hazing
  • Show your support on social media by posting on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter about your chapter’s commitment to hazing prevention using the hashtag #RSWdonthaze. Update profile pictures and cover photos on social media using provided graphics.
NHPW FB frame_sq NHPW FB frame NHPW 2020_FB cover
 
  • Have your chapter’s VP risk management share the 2020 hazing prevention poster and facilitate the conversation starter. This year’s poster focuses on #OneCertainty, sisterhood. Chapter are also encouraged to review previous fall posters on hazing prevention and their conversation starters. The posters and conversation starters can be found here
Epsilon Eta Iota Omega NHPW banner
2019 Winner: Epsilon Eta (Stephen F. Austin State University) 2018 Winner: Iota Omega (Carthage College)
 
Real, Strong Women Don't Haze

Real, Strong Women Don’t Haze

September 13, 2019
By Paige Hollendonner (Iota Omega, Carthage College)
As real, strong women, we believe that hazing should never be tolerated. Why haze a new member, when that valuable time could be used for something good? Instead of hazing, talk to your new members and begin to form an unbreakable bond. Start a new service project that the entire chapter can participate in. Be a positive light in someone’s life, not a negative one. There are so many opportunities for good; do not let this time be saturated with opportunities for bad.
Read full story on the Alpha Chi Omega blog
© 2020 Alpha Chi Omega.  All Rights Reserved.
Alpha Chi Omega Headquarters
5939 Castle Creek Parkway N. Dr.
Indianapolis, IN 46250

Phone: 317.579.5050
Fax: 317.579.5051
Email: info@alphachiomega.org